Aiteo Cup takes centre stage



Former FC Ifenanyi Ubah forward, Bello Kofarmata, with the last Federation Cup, in 2016

Attention will turn to the newly introduced Aiteo Cup, Wednesday, as Nigeria’s knock-out competition begins, across the land. 

No more the Round of 16, but now First Round as 64 teams engage in fierce battles to progress into the Second Round.


It is the ‘David vs Goliath’ competition so expects shocks and surprises after proceedings have been concluded.


For the second time in the history of the competition, matches that end in draws will not go into penalties.

However, instead of the second leg introduced when Coca-Cola celebrated the 60th anniversary of the competition in 2005, matches will be replayed.

FC Ifeanyi Ubah

Last winners of the defunct Federation Cup, FC Ifeanyi Ubah embark on a tricky road trip to face third tier side, Yarma Light.

NPFL contest

Five Nigeria Professional Football League sides will not continue the quest for the N25million jackpot due to the fact that they will face other top flight sides.


Ngwa FC (Ebonyi) VS FC Galadima (Kebbi)

Heartland FC (Imo) VS InsuranceFC (Edo)

Lobi Stars (Benue) VS Katsina United (Katsina)

Katsina United Feeders (Katsina) VS Aklosendi FC (Nasarawa)

Aitel FC (Taraba) VS Unicem Rovers (Cross River)

Mighty Jets FC (Plateau) VS Sunshine Stars (Ondo

Bayelsa United (Bayelsa) VS FC Zamfara (Zamfara)

Adamawa United (Adamawa) VS Cynosure FC (Rivers)

Ede United (Osun) VS Sakaba United FC (Kebbi)

FC Ifeanyi Ubah Feeders (Anambra) VS Jigawa Golden Stars (Jigawa)

Samba Kurna (Kano) VS Wikki Tourists Feeders (Bauchi)

Ekiti United (Ekiti) VS Dolphins FC (Kaduna)

Niger Tornadoes (Niger) VS El-Kanemi Warriors (Borno)

Rivers United (Rivers) VS FC Atete (Delta)

Delta Warriors (Delta) VS Ayade Babes (Cross River)

FC Yarma Light (Gombe) VS FC Ifeanyi Ubah (Anambra)

Haifa FC (Jigawa) VS Akwa United FC (Akwa Ibom)

Shooting Stars (Oyo) VS Dynamite FC (Edo)

Kogi United (Kogi) VS Rangers Int’l (Enugu)

Nasarawa United (Nasarawa) VS MFM FC (Lagos)

Niger Tornadoes (Niger) VS FC Abuja (FCT)

Doma United (Gombe) VS Adamawa United (Adamawa)

Osun United (Osun) VS Coal City Youths (Enugu)

FC Lokoja (Kogi) VS El-Kanemi Babes (Borno)

Kwara United (Kwara) VS Sokoto United (Sokoto)

Wikki Tourists (Bauchi) VS Plateau United (Plateau)

ABS FC (Kwara) VS Enyimba FC (Abia)

Yobe Desert Stars (Yobe) VS Kano Pillars (Kano)

Abia Warriors FC (Abia) VS Crown FC (Oyo)

FRSC FC (FCT) VS Potiskum Academy (Yobe)

Almar (Ogun) VS Spartan FC (Lagos)

Moyero FC (Ondo) VS Akwa Starlets (Akwa Ibom)
Share on Google Plus

About Ojeikere Glover Aikhoje

This is a short description in the author block about the author. You edit it by entering text in the "Biographical Info" field in the user admin panel.
    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment


Post a Comment